Song Meanings

6. One Man's Anger
Illo by Jean Smith
Normal History Vol 168 by David Lester
 Illo by David Lester

 

Mecca Normal songs listed alphabetically with predominant themes as per the legend. Songs without code need to be reviewed due to their nature, which might be more psychological, poetic or complex to assign code to at first glance.

LEGEND:

Activism related to Status Quo = Act
Apathy = Apathy  Anger = A
Capitalism = C
Empathy = E
Environment = Env
Feminism = F
History = H
Injustice = I
Language = L
Political (including Personal) and Protest = Pol & P
Relationships (romantic, interpersonal, family) = R
Social Justice = SJ

Utopian = U

SONGS:

12 Murders – F, SJ, Pol
20 Years / No Escape – Apathy, H, I, U
1922 – F, I, H, P, U
A Kind of a Girl – F, I, H, P
Accidently – L
Alibi – R
All About the Same Thing – R, H, C
Ancient Fire – F, Pol, H
Are You Hungry Joe? – SJ, I, H, Pol, A
Armchairs Fit – Act, A, Apathy, Pol, C
Arsenal – F, R, L, I, Pol
Art Was the Great Leveler – E
Attraction Is Ephemeral – R, Pol
Beaten Down – A, Pol, C
Beppo’s Room –
Between Livermore and Tracy –  B
lame the Glass Man – H, C
Blue Sky and Branches – A, R, H, Apathy
Blue TV – C, A
Breathing in the Dark – R
Broken Flowers – R, C
Cave In – A, Pol, C
Cherry Flowers – Pol, U
Clatter – C
Convince Yourself – E, C
Crimson Dragnet –
Current of Agreement – E
Cyclone – E  Days – Env
Dead Bird’s Feet – L, F, A
Deep Dark Secret –
Don’t Heal Me Like a Dog Just to Break Me Like a Horse – R
Don’t Look In The Mirror –
Don’t Shoot – Act, Pol, C, SJ
Drilling – Env, C
Drive At – H, Env, C
Echo –
Elemental Steamer –
Engine Rain – C, Env
Every Wrong Word – L, F, I
Excalibur – R
Fallen Skier – R
Family Swan – R
Fan of Sparks – Env
Fight for a Little – P, A, H
Flash Light –
Follow Down –
Forlorn – F, R
From the Surface –
Frozen Rain –
Gravity Believes –
Greater Beauty – Env
He Didn’t Say – F, R
Held –
Her Ambition – F
His Own Madness – R
Horse Heaven Hills –
How Many Now? – H, SJ
Hurricane Watch – E
I Don’t Get It –
I Don’t Need To Hold Your Hand –
I Hear You – E
I Know a Little Bit – C
I Walk Alone – F, A, H, Pol
I Went Away For A While –
Ice Floes Aweigh – R, H
I’ll Call You – R, F, A
I’m a Bit Confused – C
I’m Not into Being the Woman You’re with While You’re Looking for the Woman You Want – F, R, I, A, L, Pol
In Canada – R, H  In January – Pol, Res
Is This You? – E
It’s Called Rock ‘n Roll – H
It’s Important – E
Joelle – F, SJ, Pol
Kingdom Without Weather – Pol, U

Lois Wrote About The Farm – L, C, Apathy
Maisy’s Death – E
Malachi – Pol, Emp, Act
Man Thinks Woman – F, I, L, A, H, Pol  Medieval Man –
More, More, More – C
Mrs. McGillvary –
Museum of Open Windows – Pol, A, SJ
My First Love Song – R
Naked and Ticklish – R
Narrow – R
No Mind’s Eye – R, L
Nobody’s Asking –
Normal – Apathy
Not Standing Still – Act, Apathy, Pol, P, H
Not With You – R, F  Not Yet – R
Now That You’re Here – R
Odele’s Bath – E
OK, Here We Go – E
On the Row of Dials –
Once – H, Env
One Man’s Anger – F, Pol
One More Safe – Emp, Pol, L, Act
One Woman – F, Act, H
Only Heat – E
Orange Sunset – A, F, L
Pamela Makes Waves – F, H  Paris in April – F, H
Peach-A-Vanilla – Apathy, Act
Phone’s Unplugged – I, R
Pocket Of Scribbly Gums –
Prize Arm – A, C, Act
Revolution#Pine – Pol, Act
Ribbon – Pol, Act
Richard – C
Rigid Man in an Ice Age – H, L
Rose –
Scare in the Hallway –
Sha La La La – Pol, Act
Smile Baby – F, SJ, Pol
Something to Be Said –   S
Step into My Sphere – F, R
Straying to Summer – SJ
Strong White Male – Pol, F, C, I, H
Taking The Back Stairs – Act, Apathy, A, C, E, H, I, P, SJ, U
Texada Warns Me –
The Caribou & the Oil Pipeline – P, A, C, E
The Dark Side of Maria – R
The Dogs – C, L
The Message – Pol, SJ, Act
The Observer – H
The Orbit – R
The Revival of Cruelty – Pol, Act, C
The Way of Love – R
Then – A, H, Pol
This Is Different – E
This Is My Summer Vacation – C
This Machine – E, Apathy
Throw Silver – R
To Avoid Pain – Apathy
Tolerate Me – A
Trapped Against – Apathy
Trapped Inside Your Heart – R
Upside Down Flames – U
Vacant Night Sky – E, R
Waiting for Rudy – C, SJ, Pol
Walking the Walls – Apathy
War Between the Neighbours – C, R
Wasn’t Said – R
Water Cuts My Hands – Pol, C
Water In A Bucket – H, I, Pol, C, E, SJ, U
What About the Boy? – SJ
What’s Your Name? – Apathy
When You Build a House Without Doors – Pol
When You Know – R
Who Shot Elvis? – H, Pol, C
Who Told You So? – H, A, Pol
Will He Change? – SJ, Pol
Women Were King – H, F, Pol, U
You Heard It All – Pol, H
Tagged