Pamela Make Waves – live 1994

August 19, 1994
San Francisco
Thirsty Swede

Back when we were headliners and clubs regularly sold out. People in the audience actually call out our names at various points between songs. Pretty sure I can hear Kenny Mellman (The Julie Ruin) out there!

Not great sound, but it’s got other attributes.

“Pamela Makes Waves” features me on guitar including my (TM) yarding on the headstock instead of using a whammy bar. I kept the neck loose to enable a wider range of notes in the yarding.

I also play it on my back — in a dress! I broke a neck once in Pomona. Probably during the bashing it on the stage part of the program. I remember KSPC Nathan driving me somewhere to buy another neck.

Playing with my feet worked fairly well. At one point I carved tread into the bottom of otherwise smooth, right Hush Puppy so I could pick the strings. Leaving the left shoe smooth for sliding on the neck.

After the guitar finally cans out, I go in for a few strums on Dave’s guitar.

During that era, I had a buncha spare parts and tools on tour including a soldering iron.

The guy sitting on the side of the stage had his mouth closed for the previous songs.

Tagged ,

Leave a comment